Travel

Thoughts on travelling

I mentioned in my post about visiting Curacao that the trip had made me want to do more travelling and to visit more countries. I’ve been lucky in that my PhD had allowed me to travel to places I might not otherwise have visited. I’ve noticed, and I’m sure I’m not that first, that whilst it’s always nice to come home, travelling only makes you want to travel more.

Travel

Really I’d like to be able to visit every country in the world. However, some of them are a bit scary and it’s probably wise wait until they’re more stable politically. Also some are perfectly stable but have politics I strongly disagree with – I have an ethical problem with spending my tourism money in any country where being gay is illegal, for example. Add these concerns to the fact that travel is expensive and I am not rich and these points actually become useful in organising the list of places I’d like to go to.

Then there’s the issue of a travelling companion. Although my partner is now less concerned about long haul flights and more open to travelling to more places, he’s not too fussed about visiting a lot of places that I’d like to go to. It seems a bit unfair to drag him around the world when really all he needs to be happy is a nice warm beach to lie on.

I explored Seoul as a solo traveller and that was fine but I was only there for a long weekend and I’m a bit anxious about solo travelling in general. In some countries it’s downright dangerous to be a solo traveller as a woman. I know there are travel bloggers who have written extensively on this and on how it can be done but perhaps that’s just something to build up to. Plus that comes back to my ethical issues in many cases.

In the meantime I think perhaps my sister might be interested in joining me on some trips (not the dangerous ones) and I’ll be listening keenly to any friends talking about travel to see if they might be up for a trip at some point. That will have to be very careful though – different people have different travelling styles and the last thing you want is to fall out with your friends when you’re thousands of miles from home.

In any case, there are still plenty of options. I have started compiling a list of places I’d like to go. Some close to home, some far away. Some beache-y for my beach bum partner, some city breaks so I can indulge my geeky side. I’m keeping an open mind. I might post the list here at some point.

Originally posted here: http://unazukin210.tumblr.com/post/129925701665/thoughts-on-travelling

Leave a Reply

