Gaming

Board game nights

I play board games with two separate groups of friends. One group normally settles in for a round or two of Catan, maybe something else quick if someone has brought along something they want to try. With the other group I’ve only ever played one game twice, the fantastic Boss Monster.

Boardgame1
Settlers of Catan

I used to semi-regularly meet up with yet another group to play the Battlestar Galactica board game (yeah, sorry, I am indeed still a massive nerd). That one was a lot of fun but it takes a fair while to play, especially if you have the expansion packs, and it can get a little same-y after a few play-throughs.

Last Christmas I got Cards Against Humanity from my partner and on my birthday a friend gave me the first expansion pack. That one’s fun too, and perfectly suits my sense of humour (I’ve even played it with my Grandmother… that was interesting). Again though, it takes a long time to play if you work through all the cards and now I’ve played a fair few times I usually feel like ending the game after a couple of hours. I don’t want to be a killjoy, so I don’t, but I feel like it. Definitely still going to get the other expansions, but I might set a time limit for future games.

Boardgame2
Boss Monster

So, grown up games I’ve enjoyed so far include

 

  • Cards Against Humanity
  • The Battlestar Galatica Board Game
  • Settlers of Catan
  • Sushi Go
  • Pandemic
  • Boss Monster
  • The QI Board Game
  • Forbidden Desert

 

…and I’m sure there are others I’ve forgotten, which is kind of annoying but never mind.

Boardgame3

Thing is, while I’ve hosted CAH games a couple of times, I haven’t hosted any of the others and I’m starting to get quite into this. Don’t get me wrong – I love CAH, I just bought the science expansion – but clearly there are other wonderful options out there. I feel like I need a couple more games (and I’ve been looking on Amazon for games that are in that sweet spot of looking fun and being cheap) and then maybe I’ll invite some people around. Maybe I can combine those two groups – board games are definitely a good way of introducing people.

One possible first choice is Secret Directive, which some friends of mine are currently trying to kickstarter. If they’re successful then I’ll have killed two birds with one stone in that I’ll have a cool new game and I will have supported some friends. Even so, it’ll take a while to arrive and there’s no guarantee it will be fully funded, so I’ll want other options as well.

Boardgame4
Secret Directive

My partner is unenthusiastic about this. He likes Cards Against Humanity but that’s because it’s about being the most horrible person in the room. Even then, he was super sceptical about it at first. I reckon I can convince him to play if it’s an excuse to eat pizza and drink beer, and if the games don’t get too nerdy I think he might even reluctantly start to enjoy himself. He’s not a dick though, I can’t imagine him minding if I invite people round to do something he doesn’t want to join in with – he’ll just chill and watch TV (and help us consume the pizza and beer).

So, maybe this should happen. As I said, I’m still scouring Amazon for likely looking games. Perhaps people also have recommendations?

Originally posted here: http://unazukin210.tumblr.com/post/131150534860/board-game-nights

Leave a Reply

