Fashion

Autmn and Winter clothes

A while ago I posted this, which was a bit of a whinge about how I didn’t like spending money on clothes and about how I was feeling miserable because by the time I get to work (after walking for 30 minutes through Glasgow’s weather) I look like crap anyway.

I got some great suggestions (my favourite being to keep a cheap pair of flats at my desk so I can stomp my way to work in walking boots but then immediately change to look cute when I arrive). I might even get a cheap pair of heels too. I hope the cleaners won’t mind if I keep shoes under my desk… Maybe they’ll even fit in a drawer.

Unfortunately washing and styling my hair at night so I don’t have to do it in the morning doesn’t work. By 2pm my hair will be gross and greasy. I was my hair every single day – I know that isn’t good for it but my head literally starts itching if I don’t. It’s itching now because I’m thinking about it. My hair can get really oily and dry shampoo doesn’t seem to help. So I guess I’m stuck there.

Make up also still pretty much has to happen on site, but I guess it’s not asking too much to carry some BB cream and a mascara. I’ll need more if I want to glam up, but basic make-up isn’t too heavy or anything. Maybe that’s even another thing I could keep in my desk drawers. Not sure how I didn’t think of that before.

So thank you for your suggestions! You’re all marvellous! However, while I wanted to thank you I also wanted to share a discovery.I want to tell you how I’m getting over spending money on clothes. I still don’t have much cash, but I’ve figured something out. This is a long read, I’m afraid…

It started with Pinterest. I decided to create a board of Autumn wardrobe inspiration pieces (it’s here if you like that kind of thing). I realised I was pinning a lot of stuff from a site called Polyvore so I went to check it out. Polyvore isn’t super easy to navigate in my opinion but it turns out to be all about fashion and mood boards and collections and stuff, so no wonder it was showing up in my pins. Unfortunately, even their “affordable” stuff often seemed to be outside my budget.

I’m a researcher, it’s what I do. I figured if one site can pull together all this stuff I can pull together alternatives. Maybe even cheaper alternatives if I’m willing to do a bit of digging. I decided to try to put together this outfit, which I love but which probably wouldn’t be that practical with the white jeans – I like red wine and black coffee and I am not coordinated enough to wear white jeans while that is true.

Clothes1
Outfit goals

It’s cute though, right? I’d rather have a wedge heel on my boots since I walk a long way, so I started there. I found these on Amazon for under £20:

Clothes2

That’s not bad for winter boots. I’m gonna need some anyway. Ok. Sold. Next, the jeans. These are/were on ebay for under £5. Usually I buy my jeans from charity shops because I like to spend very little on them because I usually trash them because I am terrible at being an adult. However, I could totally stretch to £5. I won’t, because of the red wine and coffee but I could.

Clothes3

Next up, green top. Weirdly this part was actually tricky. Getting a figure skimming, chiffon layered, button detail, sleeveless bib-neck top in khaki green is apparently a really tall order. Eventually I tracked down this on Amazon for £5.50. Not the same as in the picture but not awful either and it would still work with this look and importantly, it won’t break the bank (ignore that the description says plus size, they start at UK size 8).

Clothes4

So, nearly there. One white/grey long sleeved cardigan/blazer thingy coming right up. This one is from New Look and it’s £9. You can probably find a cheaper one but by this point I’d convinced myself of my suspicions that the internet can solve almost every problem and was nearly ready to give up and call the experiment a success. Besides, £9 isn’t too bad for a cardi.

Clothes5

Last one. A brown leather handbag. Google, don’t fail me now. Again, this one is hardly identical to the picture but I actually think it’s cuter. Maybe that’s just me. It’s by H&M and is £12.99.

Clothes6

So there you have it. Experiment done. By trawling the internet you can find cute versions of outfits you see on Pinterest that won’t break the bank. In the end the only item I ordered was the boots because I can’t base an outfit on white jeans (they arrived and are warm and comfy with a really soft faux fur lining and they’re amazing quality for £20 and I love them) . However, I’m totally going to keep shopping like this.

I looked for UK size 12 items for under £20 and I searched Google shopping, Amazon, ebay, New Look, Boohoo, Forever 21, H&M and ASOS – I think ebay and amazon are usually the cheapest but you do have to be willing to scroll through page after page of results. The whole outfit would cost about £50, which is kind of steep when you put it like that, but who’s going to buy a new pair of jeans, boots and a bag for every outfit?

Does anyone have any other tips finding great deals on clothing? Does anyone have a good reason why people shouldn’t shop this way? Let me know!

So there you have it. Experiment done. By trawling the internet you can find cute versions of outfits you see on Pinterest that won’t break the bank. In the end the only item I ordered was the boots because I can’t base an outfit on white jeans (they arrived and are warm and comfy with a really soft faux fur lining and they’re amazing quality for £20 and I love them) . However, I’m totally going to keep shopping like this.

I looked for UK size 12 items for under £20 and I searched Google shopping, Amazon, ebay, New Look, Boohoo, Forever 21, H&M and ASOS – I think ebay and amazon are usually the cheapest but you do have to be willing to scroll through page after page of results. The whole outfit would cost about £50, which is kind of steep when you put it like that, but who’s going to buy a new pair of jeans, boots and a bag for every outfit?

Does anyone have any other tips finding great deals on clothing? Does anyone have a good reason why people shouldn’t shop this way? Let me know!

Originally posted here: http://unazukin210.tumblr.com/post/131485731415/autumn-and-winter-clothes

Leave a Reply

