Gaming

Local multiplayer games

I don’t like being a grown up. I have to have a full time job, I have to clean my home and make my own meals (ok I actually like cooking and cleaning, but it takes time), I have to make responsible financial decisions. I also have a near-pathological aversion to boredom and, consequently, I sign up for all kinds of stuff I don’t have time for with a view to “keeping busy.” Then I actually have to do that stuff so I don’t let people down.

Multi1
Little Big Planet

Now, don’t get me wrong, usually that stuff makes me happy and it really is great to be able to avoid boredom so easily. Plus, in the past 3 years I’ve made heaps of friends, gained tonnes of amazing experiences and maybe, just maybe, developed enough contacts to eventually be able to get a job (I know, disgusting grown up attitude, but there you have it).

However, once upon a time, I used to dedicate quite a lot of time to playing video games. I like video games. I still manage to make a bit of time for them here and there and when I do I don’t feel like I should be doing something more productive (something that happens a lot when I watch TV). I especially like playing video games with other people but only if those people are actually there in the same room as me. I’m not interested in losing to 12 year old strangers – I want to lose to my friends or boyfriend while they sit on the sofa with me.

Multi2
Motorstorm: Pacific Rift

Local multiplayer games aren’t so common these days. Good ones are even less common. I think that’s kind of a shame and I’m hoping to see a bit of a renaissance for this generation of consoles. I’m not talking gimmicky wii-sports style party games (as fun as those can be) but games with longer over arching stories, and replay value as either quick, pick-up and play type titles or as “ok, lets go back to this tomorrow and beat that end level boss” titles.

I’ve struggled to find these on PS3 and I’m mostly a console gamer. I have Steam and do play PC titles, but they tend to be strategies, point and click adventures or anything released before 2001. They aren’t really local multiplayer, although some fun can be had sitting around the same laptop as a pair and making suggestion (and occasionally batting the other person’s hands away from the keyboard when they’re being a moron).

Multi3
Portal 2 robots

PS3 titles which did succeed (for me) are:

 

  • Little Big Planet (1 & 2)
  • Motorstorm: Pacific Rift
  • Portal 2
  • Resident Evil 6
  • Little Big Planet Karting (if only Mario Kart were available on the PS3. No I won’t be buying an additional console just for Mario Kart, thank you all the same).

 

Multi4
Ratchet and Clank

Those that worked in a, “ok, you play ‘til you die, then it’s my shot” sense include:

 

  • Ratchet and Clank
  • South Park: The Stick of Truth (even hilarious just to watch someone else playing this)
  • Tomb Raider
  • Bayonetta

 

The problem with a lot of games played like this is that if the other player doesn’t die across an hour I will forget the controls. I probably don’t have much more than an hour or two to play anyway. So I’ll do this for a while but soon I’ll just give up and let them play – it’s no fun to be like, “how do I jump? Oh, nevermind, I died. Your turn again”. Then I’ll plan to play a run through myself but most likely never get around to it.

Multi5
Beyond Two Souls

I’m planning on picking up a copy of Rayman Legends for Christmas gaming, and, as I’ve mentioned before, I’m definitely up for playing previous Resident Evil games if they’re co-op and also explain a bit more about the back story. This weekend I got Beyond: Two Souls which features co-op but so far… I’m not sure. It’s a really weird game and sometimes doens’t really feel like a game at all. Like there was one level with a quick time event you needed to complete so you could successfully write out a formula. We’ll probably finish it (and then I’ll review it) but I’m not sure what to think yet.

Are there any others I should check out? Bearing in mind that FPS’s can mostly suck my ridges? I’m thinking Marvel Ultimate Alliance might be good? Maybe The Legend of Spyro: Dawn of the Dragon? Or some of the Lego games? Everyone loves Lego games, right? What do people recommend?

Originally posted here: http://unazukin210.tumblr.com/post/131550141145/local-multiplayer-games

Leave a Reply

