Recipes

Recipe: Carrot and Coriander Soup

This is souper easy (lol, I’m so funny) and also cheap. Carrots are just pretty cheap most of the time anyway but I ended up making this because I found a bag of 500 g of carrots reduced to 10p ($0.15) and picked it up without thinking. When I got home I realised that I live with one other person and we were unlikely to use up half a kilo of carrots before their sell by date the next day unless I planned a way to use them.

Carrot1

My solution was carrot and coriander soup. It’s a lovely wintery warming classic and, I think, a recipe that everyone should have because it’s quick to put together, delicious and inexpensive. It’s great for lunches, light dinners or appetisers (I ate some for breakfast at one point but I recognise that that’s a bit weird). It also freezes really well and it’s really healthy.

Carrot2

Ingredients:

  1. tbsp vegetable oil
  2. 1 onion
  3. 1 tbsp ground coriander
  4. 1 potato
  5. 1 clove of garlic
  6. 500 g carrots
  7. 1.2 L chicken or vegetable stock (I used chicken because I was out of vegetable but either would work. If you use vegetable stock your meal will be vegetarian and vegan friendly.)
  8. About a handful of fresh coriander

Carrot3

Method:

  1. Peel and chop the potato and the carrots and chop the onion, garlic and fresh coriander
  2. Heat the oil in a large, deep sauce pan. Fry the chopped onion until it starts to brown, then add the garlic and fry for about another minute
  3. Stir in the ground coriander and the potato and cook for yet another minute
  4. Add the chopped carrots and the stock. Bring it to the boil, then lower them temperature to a simmer.
  5. Cover and let it bubble away for about 20 minutes. By then everything should be nice and tender.
  6. Add the fresh coriander and blend, either with a food processor or a stick blender.
  7. Taste, season, and serve with warm crusty bread.

Carrot4

If you want to freeze a portion or two, let it cool first. We ate our frozen portions after two weeks and they still tasted great but I’m sure they could last much longer.

Originally posted here: http://unazukin210.tumblr.com/post/132211097365/recipe-carrot-and-coriander-soup

Leave a Reply

