Uncategorized

Stupid coffee table

When I moved into my flat it was furnished however, it was advertised as being available furnished, part-furnished or unfurnished. I was told that if I wanted any furniture removed I need only call my letting agent to let them know.

Coffee table
No one needs more than one basic Ikea coffee table.

My flat has two bedrooms and a living/dining/sitting room. It also had two coffee tables as well as two television consoles. The bedrooms aren’t huge so a second coffee table is an annoying waste of space – I called them to ask them to remove it. They said it wouldn’t be a problem.

I kept reminding them of this by email for about 7 months at which point they told me they hadn’t been able to remove it yet because they hadn’t been able to get in touch with my landlord. I was concerned – might he be dead? Should we file a missing person’s report? They did not appreciate my sarcasm but promised to try to contact him again.

I continued to remind them of this every few weeks. During this time I renewed my lease and the landlord proved his existence by signing it. However, they maintained that he would not respond about the table. Eventually they agreed that he must not care about it too much and that if he didn’t reply after two weeks they would have someone come to remove it.

That didn’t happen, of course, and after another month I was passed onto someone else at my letting agent who called me, rather than emailing me, to find out all the details (not that there are very many) which she could have read in an email. A few more weeks passed and she called to say that a contractor would come to collect the table the next week. Of course, the did not. After a few more phone calls I managed to get the contractor’s number directly and he agreed to pick up the coffee table after I finished work one day.

Today I have finally achieved victory. Today, after 13 months, one week and 4 days I have finally had the coffee table removed. I feel triumphant but also sort of empty. What am I going to do with my life now I no longer need to repeatedly email my letting agent? How will I go on?

I should have just threatened to charge them a fee for storage.

Originally posted here: http://unazukin210.tumblr.com/post/132997883605/stupid-coffee-table

Leave a Reply

