Fashion

Glasses direct

I don’t like eye tests. Eye tests are awkward and weird and always make me want to blink too much. I don’t like it if lovers stare too long or too deeply into my eyes – when an optician does it it’s just obscene.

Unfortunately my eyesight isn’t perfect so every now and again I have to subject myself to an eye test. Since I recently lost my last pair of glasses and my most recent test was a little over 3 years ago I submitted to a new test a couple of weeks ago. As predicted it was uncomfortable.

I went to Specsavers. I was very well treated. They were thorough and explained everything that they were doing to me. It also only took about 15 minutes to get it all over and done with. So I can rate their testing highly. After the testing I was handed over to a sales person with my prescription to chose some glasses.

Now, Specsavers prides itself on being good value for money. They’ve been running their buy one get one free offer on frames for a very long time. Unfortunately, that offer only applies to frames that cost £65 or more and well… £65 is quite a lot of money to me. So, I made an excuse, took my prescription with me and went online with it, like I usually do.

I ordered two pairs of glasses from glassesdirect.com and, because I had a discount, it cost me £37.50 including delivery. I chose an “ordinary” pair:

tumblr_inline_nxvfsivVvD1qixqyk_500

tumblr_inline_nxvga0c5Wy1qixqyk_500

And a pair that Cosima from Orphan Black, or Alex Vause from Orange is The New Black might consider wearing:

tumblr_inline_nxvg9nFgHZ1qixqyk_500

tumblr_inline_nxvgaaHhn81qixqyk_500

Guess which pair I like best?

If you’ve not tried them before I recommend it. They do buy one get one free frames too, but they start cheaper. You just punch in your prescription when you’ve chosen your frames and they send you them. If you don’t feel like you can decide without trying them on you can do home tests with frames but I couldn’t be bothered with the faff.

My glasses were with me 3 days after I’d ordered them, which was great because I was starting to miss going to the cinema. Also seeing in general. Incidentally, I still have a bunch of referral discount codes, so if anyone (in the UK) is thinking of getting new glasses and might fancy trying them, let me know and I’ll send you one.

Here’s looking at you, kid.

Originally posted here: http://unazukin210.tumblr.com/post/133334460325/glasses-direct

Leave a Reply

