Uncategorized

Fear of being unemployed

My PhD, as I’m sure I’ve mentioned, is coming to an end. I’m funded until March after which I will need a job. I have a little money put aside to help me exist until I find one but it might well be the case that I’ll have to take waitressing work or something until I find a career-style job.

Work

Hopefully I’ll be in the position where my thesis is written. Perhaps I’ll be waiting for my viva date. That would be nice. It’s quite optimistic but it’s not impossible. However, whether there’s still work to be done on the thesis or not, I will need a source of income, probably by May at the latest. Maybe June.

Knowing that a date is coming up where I won’t be making any money is really scarey. I know some students don’t mind (usually the ones who can live with their parents or who have other people to support them) but I really do. I am afraid of not having a job, of not having an income. In an ideal world I wouldn’t leave a single day’s emploment between the 31st of March and the 1st of April. It is unlikely to actually turn out that way.

Plus, as well as all my normal bills, as soon as I hand in my thesis I don’t count as a student. I’ll have to pay council tax. That adds about an extra third onto the cost of my rent. This will happen at a time when I don’t have an income. At a time when I’ll have to pay fees to submit my thesis and, later, fees to graduate. It’s all pretty worrying. I have no idea where this money will come from.

That’s part of why I started looking at the freelancing stuff I blogged about a while ago. I’m hoping that can provide a little extra money so I can afford to keep going a little longer. I mean, I’m not even sure I can apply for unemployment benefits. No doubt I don’t count as a student when it means I have to pay the council, but I do when it means they might have to pay me? I should probably find out…

In an attempt to avoid all this horror I will be applying for jobs soon. Probably starting over the Christmas period. Somehow I’ll fit this around writing my thesis and finishing my research (lol). I’ll apply exclusively for career-style jobs until the end of Februrary, after that I’ll start polishing off my retail and services CVs. Now there’s something I hoped to not have to do again.

If anyone sees any work going that a PhD student could do and that starts in April, give me a shout, yeah?

Originally posted here: http://unazukin210.tumblr.com/post/135046401175/fear-of-being-unemployed

Leave a Reply

