Books

Reading in 2016

I know I’ve already talked about New Year’s Resolutions and what I’m hoping to change in 2016. However, something that’s always true is that I want to read more books. Last year I set myself the slightly vague challenge of trying to read more books written by women because I noticed a huge lack of women in the books I had catalogued on LibraryThing (I love LibraryThing – I know a lot of people who us Good Reads instead, but I’m a LibraryThing loyalist).

Reading2016

That went pretty well and I read some amazing things, but you can always have more variety. I always want to aim to read more, but these days time is limited and I rarely manage more than about 20 books a year. Focussing on variety may be key. So, this year I’ll be trying to work my way through the book challenge I re-blogged a while ago. You can find it here.

However, while any reading plan may be very flexible, I still find planning helpful. I just know that when it comes to May I’ll have finished a book and I’ll have forgotten all about this and I’ll have no idea what I want to read next. That’s when I’ll spend three weeks not reading anything because I can’t decide. If I can avoid that, I might manage 21 books instead of 20.

So, I’m going to plan out which actual titles I want to read for a few of these challenges. Watch this space.

Leave a Reply

