Books · Feminism

Feminist book club

In about… oh, October? I joined a feminist book club. The first meet up was a bit hurried and out of the blue, so we agreed to read a few short essays rather than a full book and so we went for some bits from Dubliners.

Dubliners

For the second meeting, we thought we’d look at deconstructing perceptions of femininity and I read Female Chauvinist Pigs, which I didn’t like but I’m glad I read. I also read the first part of Fat is a Feminist Issue, which I was intrigued by, even if I thought it was a little dated. Fortunately, one of the other women at the book club is a psychology student and was able to tell me it was very dated and pointed me to some more up-to-date texts, so I skipped the rest.

The third meeting was supposed to be about feminism in the 21st century. We’d compare things written in the 50s, 60s and 70s to more modern things. I was looking forward to it but it was postponed. No new date was set and we haven’t met since. I’m going to try to get everyone back together but I’m not hopeful.

Of course, I don’t technically need a book club in order to read these things but it was nice being able to discuss it with people. Right now I just about have time to read books and meet once a month to chat about them, but I probably can’t justify running my own. Although that does have a certain appeal.

In the meantime, I’ve sent out a message to the group to try to get the ball rolling again and I guess I’ll just have to hope I get a response. Otherwise, I have one of three choices:

  1. Move on with my life
  2. Wait until I finish my thesis and then start my own group
  3. Highjack a different, unsuspecting book group and trick them into reading lots of feminist texts

Let’s hope it doesn’t have to come to that.

One thought on “Feminist book club

Leave a Reply

