Fitness · Goals · Life

How’s the New Year going?

Continuing yesterday’s trend of looking back over the first month of the year I’ve decided to see how my resolutions have worked so far. The original post with my New Year’s Resolutions is here, but I made three vague plans which are as follows:

  1. Be Healthier
  2. Try New Things
  3. Use My  Time Better

So how am I doing?

Honestly, it could be better. I’m definitely failing at being healthier, largely because I spent the first few days of January at my mother’s house, eating her amazing home cooked food (and helping her work her way through the Christmas chocolates). Then I spent a couple of weeks trying to be healthy before birthday celebrations started and it was more good food, wine and chocolate all over again.

Skippingrope
I haven’t used this once yet.

However, I don’t believe in denying yourself fun, especially when there’s something to celebrate, so I don’t feel too guilty about this. I’ve managed to exercise a bit, although I’ve been busy so a few classes have been pushed aside. In any case, I plan to be fully back on the wagon in February and I hope that temptations for treats will only really happen around the 14th.

I’m also definitely not using my time better. Part of the aim here was to avoid spending as much time reading everything on the internet. Instead I wanted to narrow it down to only reading the things I was really interested in. I think I need more structure to this plan because so far I’ve totally failed. I think part of the problem is that work is really demanding at the moment and by the time I get home at the end of the day I’m too tired to be useful. However, I don’t think I can rely on the idea that this problem will solve itself – I’m going to have to give it some more thought.

On the other hand, I’ve totally succeeded at item 2. I have tried a fair few new things, which you can read about in yesterday’s post. I’m looking forward to trying even more new things in February. So it’s not all bad.

Perhaps this is why I’m slightly wary of New Year’s Reslutions and the whole “New Year, New Me” atttitude. We’re all works in progress and it’s easy to become disheartened when you try to change too much too quickly and it doesn’t quite happen the way you planned. I’d argue that small successes should be celebrated and small failures shouldn’t be worried about too much. There’s a new month coming, full of new chances to try again.

2 thoughts on “How’s the New Year going?

Leave a Reply

