Fitness

Kickstarting my fitness… again

I think like almost everyone I over-indulged a bit over Christmas. I felt zero guilt about this because Christmas is pretty much for over-indulging. It’s all about spending time with family and friends, watching movies, swapping gifts and eating and drinking way too much.

I’m also one of those people who will put workout clothes in my suitcase when I pack to go see my family and then never once put them on. Not once.

Woman running on wooden path
This isn’t me. I hate jogging.

So when January rolled around I knew I needed to get back on track with my health. No big deal. I could probably do that just by not eating my own weight in chocolate every few days. Unfortunately, my birthday is in January, and with it came plenty of temptations to eat delicious food. Plus, because life is sometimes busy, I missed out on a bunch of fitness classes.

So here I am again. It’s already the tenth of February and I’m in almost the exact same place that I was at on the 1st of January. Not that that’s a bad thing in of itself. It’s still pretty obvious that I worked hard last year and, even though I’ve not been perfect lately, I still feel pretty great. I just know I could do better.

I think that’s a pretty standard thing. No one reaches perfection overnight (or, ‘yknow, ever) and there’s going to be a lot of set backs with steady improvement. So I’m just taking this as a minor set back and I’m getting on with making plans to help myself improve.

I’m booked back into Ladies Who Lift with Andy on Saturday as well. So that will be another great chance to exercise, and probably also to have a bit of a giggle. Andy’s classes are always a lot of fun like that.

Finally, I’ve agreed with Pammi over at Glasgow Food Geek that we’re both giving up bread for Lent. I’m not especially religious but I do love a personal challenge and giving up bread seems challenging but doable, so it’s perfect. It’ll force me to get a bit more creative with lunches but that’s probably a good thing. Oh, and pizza doesn’t count. Obviously.

What are your fitness goals at the moment?

2 thoughts on “Kickstarting my fitness… again

  1. I jonied an LGBT running group in Glasgow called the Glasgow Front Runners. If you need motivation, there’s no better way than public shaming! They’re a great bunch of folks, and really friendly. They have a strong female membership (usually LGBT groups are basically gay club, not so much with this) and they have monthly socials.
    I highly recommend, if you’re looking for that kind of thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

