Glasgow · Lifestyle

Fun with freebies

Sorry to anyone hoping this is a giveaway. Maybe I’ll do a giveaway one day, but today is not that day. I’ll let you know if I do, promise. Today instead I want to talk about a small haul of freebies I collected recently whilst wandering aroung Glasgow’s city centre.

fotor_145485999027333.jpg
Freebies! Yay!

I had a voucher in my pocket for Sports Direct because a while ago they were running an offer where if you chose to collect your order from the store instead of having it delivered to your home, they’d give you a free £5 voucher. I pretty much always do click and collect because I’m never home when the delivery person shows up (it’s possible that they just hate me). Picking up my order suited me just fine.

I dropped into the store and chose an alarmingly pink exercise top. Something to wear when I go to the A G Fitness Training Ladies who Lift classes, I guess. Alarmingly pink is a good thing too, right? Because if I ever go running again and it gets dark I’ll be a little bit more visible? I mean, I don’t see it happening in the next few weeks, but it’s possible.

Then I opened my o2 Priority Moments app. I try to remember to always do this when I’m in the city centre, just in case. If you’re with o2 and you haven’t downloaded this I want you to stop reading right now and go and do it. I’ll wait.

Ok? Ok. My app was offering me a free bar of milk chocolate from Hotel Chocolat, a free Graze box snack from boots and a free sampler of The Porefessional from Benefit. My lucky day. Even luckier when I got to the Benefit counter and they told me I was just in time and gave me the last sample. They also handed me this coffee sleeve and told me I could get a free coffee for a friend the next time I went into Starbucks to get a coffee for myself. I felt like I was doing pretty well.

I love a good freebie. I love a good bargain and a freebie is like a bargain but better. Mostly the o2 app seems to be about discounts on things I’ll never use (like £75 off when you spend £1000 at PC World… yeah, thanks for that) or competitions I enter but never win. However, there’s usually at least a free coffee on the go and quite often a discount in places like The Body Shop, so on balance it works out pretty well.

Do you like freebies? Have you had any good ones lately?

Leave a Reply

