Gaming

Games day at M’s

I love a good board games session but I don’t get to play as often as I’d like. I don’t own any of my own board games yet so I can’t invite people round to play and lining up the schedules of people who want to play is difficult at the best of times. I have to wiat until someone who does own games sets up a session and then hope I can make it. Fortunately this happened not long ago when my friend M invited a few people over.

fotor_145571418440422.jpg
Settlers of Catan, Seafarers edition. Note the important addition of Malteasers.

It was a small-ish group of four of us this time around. Not that four doesn’t work well, of course. I was introduced to M’s friend from his days as an undergraduate physics student and we talked about physics and especially gravitational waves for a bit before we got started. That’s happening a lot lately, even with non-physics friends.

First we played Settlers of Catan with the Seafarers expansion pack. I’ve played Catan a few times before but never any of the expansion packs or special editions. Honestly I don’t think I made the best possible use of the new level of gameplay this expansion allowed. New things in the game are boats, which work a lot like roads, and those island tiles which you get extra points for when you build your first settlement on them. There’s also a pirate that operates like the robber. In spite of these exciting new things I stayed entirely on the main island and just played well with the resources that I picked up early and I ended up winning. Hurrah!

Next we tried Coup. This is a card game I haven’t played before but which I really, really liked. Apparently it’s quite cheap too, so perhaps this will be the first thing I pickΒ  up (Cards Against Humanity doesn’t count). It’s quite quick to play, I guess you could finish a game in 5 minutes if all the players were familiar with it but it tended to take us about 15 minutes. It requires ruthlessness and confident bluffing to win and it’s a lot of fun.

Games day at M's
Exploding Kittens. Photo credit: Flickr user Jorge Sanz

Lastly we had a couple of rounds of Exploding Kittens, the card game created by Mathew Inman of The Oatmeal. This one was also fairly quick to play but it’s very silly, quite funny, and relies much more heavily on chance. I think it would be a great game to play with a group who were new to this kind of game or who didn’t really think of themselves as being fans of board games or card games.

Then it was time to go. It was a good session and I’m looking forward to the next one – if I do pick up a copy of Coup (and maybe one or two other things) then maybe the next session could even be at my place. This session also meant that my top five games list needs to be adjusted a bit. It’s now:

  1. Boss Monster
  2. Forbidden Desert
  3. Coup
  4. Catan
  5. Pandemic

Do you play board games and card games? What are your favourites?

 

———-

And now for something completely different!

B.G. over at Getting Through Anxiety nominated me for the 3 Quotes 3 Days Challenge. Thanks, B.G! …I sure hope I’ve got your initials right?

The Rules:

  1. Acknowledge the blogger who nominated you.
  2. Post 1-3 quotes per day for 3 days.
  3. Nominate other bloggers for the challenge. As many as you like, when you like.

My Quotes For The Day:

“It may be that all games are silly, but then, so are humans.”

-Robert Lynd

“Do I dare disturb the Universe? In a minute there is time for decisions and revisions which a minute will reverse.”

-T. S. Eliot (The Lovesong of Alfred J Prufrock)

“In case of emergency, good luck.”

-Welcome to Night Vale

My Nominees:

Let me know how you get on πŸ™‚

 

 

13 thoughts on “Games day at M’s

  1. I love board games. Scrabble is my favorite although if there’s a game night, I often go for games like Taboo and Pictionary because they tend to be more fun while Scrabble tends to attract the super-competitive ones (like me) who take it really seriously πŸ™‚

    Like

      1. Haha. Just looked it up and saw its one of the most popular board games in UK. I can’t recall seeing it in stores here but I’ll definitely be on the lookout. I need a new game for the kids group I work with. Thanks for the recommendation

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m very fond of board games. I’m not so keen on Catan, I feel that if/when one player gets an advantage, it’s very difficult for the others to catch up. I’m also not hugely fond of Coup, but that may just be because I’m an awful liar/bluffer :).

    My favourite board game is probably Pandemic. I can die horribly at this again and again and keep coming back for more :). I actually like cooperative board games in general, so Forbidden Desert and Thunderbirds are both fun (all designed by Matt Leacock). I also really enjoy Betrayal at House on the Hill, which starts out as co-op, but half way through, there’s a traitor revealed (semi-randomly) and then it’s Heroes vs Traitor. Galactica is also great fun, even if it does take a while to play.

    Dominion is a game that I don’t play often enough but the many different card sets means that there’s an awful lot of variety (even before taking into account the many, many expansions); Seven Wonders, Ticket to Ride, Castle Panic, I could go on (and often have πŸ™‚ ).

    Oh, and Gloom. I can’t remember if we played that with you or not: it’s a gothic storytelling card game where you’re in control of a family and the objective is to make your family as miserable as possible before killing them, whilst making your opponents happy. It’s a lot more fun than it sounds :).

    Like

  3. Great post! I’ve never played Catan, and feel like I should try it. We do family game nights over so often, and tend to always end up with Anomia, Scattergories, and Bananagrams. πŸ™‚ Boss Monster sounds like something my son would like — I’ll have to check it out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

