TV

TV series review: True Detective S2

loved True Detective Season 1. Everyone did. I got to it pretty late (naturally) but when I eventually sat down to watch it I was hooked. Partly this was probably down to Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson, who are both amazing. However, even without them, it told a fantastic story.

TV Series Review True Detective Season 2
Vince Vaughn in True Detective Season 2, I have to say, it’s not easy to get used to him in a non-comedy role. Image credit: YouTube

I was worried when I heard that season 2 hadn’t done so well. However, this isn’t unusual for anthology series – its common for the people to just want the same characters to come back for another adventure. I tried to convince myself that this was probably the problem here, and that the series would be fine. Maybe not as good as season one, but still good.

The first episode was ok, but I didn’t really know what was going on. I watched it with P, who agreed, but pointed out that since it was the first episode, they were probably just setting the scene. Probably you weren’t supposed to know what was going on yet. Probably they’d explain more in the next episode or so and everything would start to make sense. Probably.

Unfortunately, when we were four episodes in (there’s only eight in the series) I still had no idea what was going on. Now, I like to think of myself as a relatively smart person, but I’ve now watched the whole series, and I’ve spent a lot of time chatting with P to try to work out what was supposed to be going on, and I’m still not convinced I full followed any of the story lines. I say “story lines” because I think that might be the cause of the problem. With about four or five characters the writers, I think, tried to tell too many stories and it because very difficult to work everything out.

After episode 4 I suggested to P that this might end up happening and that I might need to go back and watch the whole series through twice in order to understand it. However, having now seen the whole thing I doubt that that would help. Also, I don’t want to. It’s possible that some of the story lines in there are quite interesting, but everything was so confused that I just got bored. I don’t care about what’s happening in Vinci, where this season is set and I don’t care about any of the characters – after having watched them for eight hours I still don’t even know any of their names.

It’s disappointing. I really, really, wanted to like this. I’m glad that it hasn’t destroyed the whole idea, Season 3 was confirmed back in December, so there’s a chance here for True Detective to be redeemed. I just hope they take a different approach in their story telling next time around.

6 thoughts on “TV series review: True Detective S2

  1. Like you, I loved the first season! I started to watch the first episode of the second season, but didn’t end it, and decided to let the season end and watch it later. I’m sad that you didn’t liked it, I guess I have to start preparing myself for disapointment! :/
    Thanks for your review, without spoilers! 😀
    Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

