Books

Books I can’t wait to read

We might be approximately a quarter into 2016 but there are still plenty of lovely books that haven’t yet been published and I am excited about them. These are the ones most likely to make me break my current rules about not buying new books, rules that are already occasionally bent by one of the following:

  1. but it’s on sale!
  2. but it’ll help with thesis writing!
  3. but it’s for book club!

I know, I am weak. At least it’s books and not, y’know, designer hand bags or something. I would need a much bigger apartment if it were designer hand bags, and a very well paid job.

Books I can't wait to read
Books I’m looking forward to in 2016. There isn’t a finalised cover for The Lesser Bohemians yet but really any of these covers could still change before release.

Anyway, we’re getting off track here. Here are the books that I’m likely to pick up in the next 6 months, but even if I exercise extreme self control (shelf control?) I will just put on a wishlist so I don’t forget about them later.

April

Girl Up by Laura Bates

The Cauliflower by Nicola Barker

Black Box Thinking: Marginal Gains and the Secrets of High Performance by Matthew Syed

May

LaRose by Louise Erdrich

The Veins of the Ocean by Patricia Engel

June

Do Statins Work: The Battle for Perfect, Evidence Based Medicine by Ben Goldacre

Vinegar Girl, Anne Taylor

The Long Cosmos, Terry Pratchett and Steven Baxter

July

The Muse, Jessie Burton

The Transmigration of Bodies by Yuri Herrara

August

Autumn by Ali Smith

Dirt Road by James Kelman

September

The Lesser Bohemians by Eimear McBride

The Tale of Kitty in Boots by Beatrix Potter

The Underground Railroad by Coslon Whitehead

 

What books are you looking forward to this year?

 

 

Leave a Reply

