Life

Life update

I have been neglecting my blog a bit. Sure, I’m still posting every day but I’m not talking as much with commenters and other bloggers and I miss that. I’ll get back to it but, perhaps unsurprisingly, writing a thesis is taking a lot of time and energy. How come no one warned me that getting a PhD would be hard?

Ahem. Anyway, I figured it was time for a general life update. Here’s where I’m at:

The thesis is coming along nicely, most of the time. Sometimes it feels like I write 20 pages in a day and it’s all solid gold. Sometimes it feels like I spend 20 hours at my computer and only succeed in labelling a diagram and adding a comma. In total, though, it’s progress and I feel like it’s going well.

I’ve applied for a bunch of jobs and have had a certain amount of interest. Also I got the world’s best and nicest feedback on my CV from my supervisor. She was saying things like, “why aren’t your awards higher up in the list?” and “please don’t say you have occasionally won awards, just say you’ve won them, you donkey.” and “I promise you, if you were a man, you wouldn’t say you have some experience in Python, you’d just say you could program in Python.” She’s correct and wonderful.

I’m still managing to get out and have a social life, although I’m doing lower cost fun things until I start getting paid again. Like laser tag, which I’ve just been invited to another round of on Sunday by Andy who runs Ladies Who Lift. Also, I won tickets to a small Cuban music festival at the end of the month and I am so excited about that.

Speaking of Ladies Who Lift, I’m re-dedicating myself to my fitness goals. I wasn’t being unhealthy but I was coasting and while I’m not unhappy with my fitness at the moment, I’m not 100% of the way there yet, either. Right now my arms, shoulders and chest muscles all ache like crazy from Ladies Who Lift on Tuesday and I’m booked back in on Saturday. Hopefully I’ll get to go to conditioning on Monday and Wednesday next week. It occurs to me that when you’re 90% of the way to your goals it’s much harder to motivate yourself to do the last 10% because you’re already pretty happy with where you’re at, but I will do it.

I’m still crazy in love with P, who is also writing his physics PhD thesis and applying for jobs right now. You’d think the pressure would make us bicker but we’re getting on great. I feel very lucky about that. The worst I can say is that we can be a terrible influence on each other, like, “you’ve probably done enough today, come watch Daredevil.”

So I guess that’s where I’m at. Hopefully I’ll be able to keep up the daily posts but life is really busy and kind of exhausting right now. I’ll be glad to finish this project.

4 thoughts on “Life update

  1. Wow that was a wonderful update! While I wait to start my phd end of this year, I’m already quite nervous about how tough it’s going to get. But I’m hoping that with a good team and a good guide I’ll sail through this decently. Writing is always the more daunting task in science, not even the experiments! So happy for you and P and it’s amazing that you guys are getting on well even with so much pressure! Well done 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

