Glasgow · Life

Happy Summer!

It is the 1st of June and I am delighted. At least in Glasgow the weather is amazing: The sun is shining, we’re getting temperatures of ~20 C (high for Glasgow) but so far the humidity hasn’t crept too high. You’d genuinely be smart to put on sunscreen if you’re planning on spending much time outside.

The days are absolutely beautiful right now, yesterday a bunch of people from my research group went out for ice cream, including the boss. Our boss is great but she’s generally extraordinarily busy so it was good to see her join us for that.

img_20160520_150310.jpg
Sunshine in the Merchant City, Glasgow

Also, the days are really, really long right now. Today the sun rose at 4:40 am and it won’t set until 9:51 pm. We pay for that in winter, of course, but I think the long days in summer are worth it. It means that getting up early is much easier than it otherwise might be and I always feel like I’m far more productive in the summer months (and happier).

Since we’ve now officially survived half of 2016 I think this might be a good time to look back on some of the year. Tomorrow my post will be about looking back on successes from 2016 so far; goals achieved, things that have gone well or that I’ve particularly enjoyed, things I’m still working on but optimistic about. If you’d like to join in, let me know and I’ll put up a link to your post.

In the meantime, I hope you’re enjoying the sunshine as much as I am!

5 thoughts on “Happy Summer!

  1. What a great picture and lovely weather. We have it worse here down south. I like your idea of looking back over 2016 so far, we’re nearly half way through and it’s flown by!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

