Glasgow

Launch of Pabst Blue Ribbon in the UK

This was an event that was a little out of the ordinary. The launch of Pabst Blue Ribbon (or PBR) in Scotland was not what I expected it to be but it was really cool. Apparently they’re quite a well known brand in the US but, although I’d heard of PBR, I hadn’t had the opportunity to try it before now. Glasgow’s Yelp community manager, Briony, had messaged me earlier in the week to see if I fancied coming along. I agreed.

So, we were welcomed in, snapped looking happy holding complimentary beers and sent into the huge warehouse space that is SWG3 to go and have some fun. At one end of the space they had a DJ booth set up with the DJ playing club-ish but not obtrusive music. There was a great long bar along most of the length of the space, where you could grab another PBR whenever you were ready (only bottles and cans seem to be available right now, my guess is that draft would be prohibitively expensive). Opposite this and near the doors they had a board set up for people to sign and doodle with Sharpies.

PBR

The rest of space was dotted with tables to prop ourselves up on and at the far end a half-pipe had been set up which a group of skateboarders were doing tricks on to entertain us. The place was filled with lots of blue light and there were a few screens for projecting stuff on. The guys from BRGR kept us well fed too which was a massive bonus (I was starving!)

It was clear that PBR had gone to a huger amount of effort to pull this launch off and to make it a fun and unique night. We had a good time trying their beers, watching skateboarders and chatting with a few other Yelpers. The only downside was that the space got surprisingly warm surprisingly quickly but I guess that’s to be expected with a big crowd. When we left we were given goodie bags with a couple more beers in. I have to confess that they didn’t last long in our fridge. Ooops.

Launch of Pabst Blue Ribbon in Glasgow
Turns out the burgers from BRGR are pretty good

Now, I must confess, I’m more of a real ale/craft beer type than a lager drinker but it has a time and a place. I don’t always have to drink a smoked red rye ale, even if it is my favourite – sometimes you want something crisp and light. I don’t know that a night drinking only PBR is the best way for me to work out how much I like it in comparison to the continental lagers that are likely to be its main competitors in the UK but if I see it in a bar again I’ll definitely give it another go.

2 thoughts on “Launch of Pabst Blue Ribbon in the UK

  1. Obviously I can’t comment on the beer but I’ve burgers from BRGR once or twice. They actually have a couple of rather good veggie burgers, so it’s somewhere you could actually take a veggie and they wouldn’t starve :).

    Like

Leave a Reply

