Books

Favourite fiction books of 2016

December is a good time for looking back on the past year. In the case of 2016, I doubt I’m the only one who’s glad that it’s nearly over. However, there were plenty of highs alongside those lows and so, like last year, I plan to write a series of posts discussing a few of my favourite things, starting with books.

This year I somehow managed to get a lot of reading done. I think, given the PhD, the new job, moving house and so on, I just needed the opportunity for escapism. Given that moving house also meant I started commuting by train, I could find a little time to read each day, even when my thesis deadline loomed and my viva wasn’t far away. No regrets.

I tend to read far more fiction than I do non-fiction so I’m going to post about non-fiction separately. That means I can do a top ten of fiction and a top five of nonfiction and those numbers make me happy. I should stress, these aren’t necessarily books that were released in 2016 (although some of them were) but books that I read in 2016.

favourite-fiction-books-of-2016

Ok? Here we go!

10. Mr. Splitfoot by Samantha Hunt

9. Nocturnes: Five Stories of Music and Nightfall by Kazuo Ishiguro

8. Neuromancer by William Gibson

7. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

6. The Watchmaker of Filligree Street by Natasha Pulley

5. Ruby by Cynthia Bond

4. How Late it was, How Late by James Kelman

3. Beloved by Toni Morrison

2.Β The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan

1. Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

Ok, so that was really hard to do. Why did I decide to put them in order? I’m just going to have to hit publish without checking that order again because I’m going to change my mind about it every time I look at it.

Every single one of these books was wonderful and I read plenty more than kind of also deserve to be on the list. If the books I read in 2017 are half as good as the ones I read in 2016 I’ll consider myself very lucky (and quite good at choosing books).

What have your favourite pieces of fiction been this year? Is there anything you strongly recommend that I put on my 2017 reading list?

2 thoughts on “Favourite fiction books of 2016

  1. The ones I’d recommend that I read this year are:

    * The Long Way to A Small, Angry Planet, by Becky Chambers
    * Saga (graphic novel series), by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
    * Big Money, by P. G. Wodehouse
    * 10 Cities That Made an Empire, by Tristram Hunt

    There’s hunners more but I’m on a mobile and can’t type that much πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

