Beauty

Glossybox January unboxing

The January Glossybox snuck up on me. After a lot of rushing around over the Christmas period and having been lucky enough to have received all sorts of goodies, I’d forgotten that soon the postman would bring something else to unwrap. I can now conclude that forgetting that your monthly treat is arriving makes it even more exciting that usual.

This month’s box was put together by a guest curator, Deliciously Stella. I have to admit, I wasn’t familiar, but she seems fun! Her thing seems to be poking fun at juice cleanses, food trends and Instagram #fitspo posting. As she put it, “leave the superfoods for your face.” Sounds good to me.

Nip+Fab Kale Fix Moisturiser, rrp. £19.95

img_20170114_121353_909.jpg

Here’s the worry: Will it make me smell like cabbage? Answer: No. It does smell vaguely of vegetation, but more like aloe than like brassicas, thank goodness. It’s very rich and smooth and absolutely perfect for the remaining winter months. My skin will thank Glossybox for this one.

Would I buy it? Probably not for £19.95, no. But I’ll keep an eye on what else the brand has to offer.

The Balm Meet Matt(e) Trimony Single Eyeshadow, rrp. £34 (for a full palette)

Such a pretty colour and in such a cute little box. It reminded me of the match boxes you sometimes get from bars. So points for pretty packaging. It’s a gorgeous aubergine shade and just the kind of colour I’d choose for myself. It smooths on beautifully and blends easily and, while I’m not normally much of an eyeshadow person, I can see myself picking this one up on days when I do full makeup.

Would I buy it? Um. £34 feels like a lot to spend on eyeshadow, even if you are getting a full palette of colours. Most of them I’d probably never use. So I wouldn’t buy it, no, but if you like eyeshadows then this is probably a good palette to get.

Unani Illuminate Milk Cleanser, rrp. 14

img_20170114_121439_355.jpg

Yay! I have an Unani face mask that I really love and while I never really need more cleanser (I get Dermalogica’s Special Cleansing Gel in salon sized bottles that last me about a year) it is nice to mix it up every now and then. Knowing that I already like Unani is a definite advantage, but it might bias me slightly. So far, I think this smells lovely, just ever so slightly sweet and, although I’ve only tried it only a couple of times, it feels very gentle on the skin. I generally prefer foaming cleansers, but if sulphates bother you this is a great alternative.

Would I buy it? As much as I love it, probably not – as I said, I’m a Dermalogica devotee on this one.

Vitamasques Manuka Honey Face Mask, rrp. £3.99

img_20170114_121642_855.jpg

 

It’s another one of those masks that’s an actual mask (rather than a gel/paste/cream that you spread across your skin and allow to set). I am freaked out by these, as I mentioned not long ago. However, having discussed them with my mother recently, I was willing to give them another shot. It’s not a gel-mask, it’s more papery, but soaked in the hydrating and moisturising balm and, while a little cold at first, quite nice. My skin felt soft and smooth after using it and I was less freaked out than I was by the last one.

img_20170115_210131_688.jpg
Look at that, I’m hardly perturbed at all…

Would I buy it? You know, I actually might. It wouldn’t break the bank but it would still make a nice weekly treat.

Spa to You Deep Pore Cleansing Facial Brush, rrp. £6.99

img_20170114_121130_184.jpg

Um, excuse me? This looks awfully familiar. I already have one of these. Glossybox sent me one in August! I can understand their thinking that a facial brush is a handy thing to have (and having used mine a few times since August I can confirm that it makes a huge difference) but I can’t imagine anyone needing two. Are they calling me two-faced? Perhaps they need replacing eventually but not in 5 months. Maybe if they’d even sent a different facial brush for the sake of comparison I might have understood, but it’s the exact same one. I honestly have no idea what Glossybox were thinking on this one. My plan: See if my sister or mum want it and if not chuck it on eBay.

Would I buy it? I’m guessing that after the above paragraph it’s pretty obvious that I wouldn’t. Would you like to buy it from me?

Not a bad collection here. It’s nice that Glossybox have focused on skin care in January, what with the winter weather doing its best to peel all my skin from my face. Plus, we can apparently expect a Valentine’s Day special next month, so now I’m getting all excited about that!

2 thoughts on “Glossybox January unboxing

Leave a Reply

