Books

World Book Day and my reading list

Today is World Book Day! I hope you get the chance to read something you love.

Last year, on World Book Day, I took the time to compile a very long list of books I owned but had yet to read. My ultimate to-read stack. I didn’t count books that I wanted to read but didn’t own, because part of the point was to try to open my eyes to all the brilliant texts I already had, sitting on my shelves, patiently waiting for me to open them.

My plan was to try to work my way through as many of them as possible. Since I now review every book I read on my blog, I could then go back and edit the original post, adding links to the reviews as they went up. I had so much fun with this that I’ve decided to do it again this year.

img_20170219_203900_533.jpg
A slightly smaller, more immediate TBR list

I don’t count textbooks or dictionaries for obvious reasons but other than that anything that I might read cover-to-cover goes on the list. Even if it’s on my Kindle. Last year, I only counted P’s books if he’d read them or if he’d owned them for aaaaaaaages without reading them. This year I’m counting all of them – it turns out he doesn’t mind a bit if I read his books before he does. In the past twelve months, I’ve worked my way through 25 of the books that appeared in the post. On the other hand, I have read 53 books in total since then, so clearly I’m still acquiring (and borrowing) books at an alarming rate. I’m going to have to try to stop doing that.

Anyway, this year I hope to make even more of a dent. So, without any further ado, here’s the list:

  1. House of Leaves, Mark Z Danielewski
  2. Dreamwords, Paul Story
  3. Don Quixote, Miguel de Cervantes
  4. Angelmaker, Nick Harkaway
  5. Naked Lunch, William Boroughs
  6. Conversation in the Cathedral, Mario Vargas Llosa
  7. The Zombie Survival Guide, Max Brookes
  8. The New York Trilogy, Paul Auster
  9. Moonfleet, J. Meade Falkner
  10. Paradise Lost, Milton
  11. Marabou Stork Nightmares, Irvine Welsh
  12. A Short History of Nearly Everything, Bill Bryson
  13. Collected Poems, T. S. Eliot
  14. The Autumn of the Patriarch, Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  15. Samurai Wilson: The Adventurer who Unlocked Japan, Giles Milton
  16. Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, Haruki Murakami
  17. Steppenwolf, Herman Hesse
  18. The Cathedral and the Bazaar, Eric S. Raymond
  19. The Origin of Species and the Voyage of the Beagle, Charles Darwin
  20. Collected Poems, William Wordsworth
  21. New Arabian Nights, R. L. Stevenson
  22. Labyrinths, Jorge Luis Borges
  23. When We Were Orphans, Kazuo Ishiguro
  24. Cloud Atlas, David Mitchell
  25. Brighton Rock, Graham Greene
  26. Our Man in Havana, Graham Greene
  27. Brave New World, Aldous Huxley
  28. Decipher, Stel Pavlov
  29. Under the Dome, Stephen King
  30. Too Far, Rich Shapero
  31. The Blind Watchmaker, Richard Dawkins
  32. Short Stories, Hemingway
  33. The Golem, Gustav Meyrink
  34. The Miss Marple Stories, Agatha Christie
  35. Leave it to Psmith, P. G. Wodehouse
  36. The Silmarillion, J. R. R. Tolkien
  37. The Egyptians, Alan Gardiner
  38. The Hittites, O. R. Gurney
  39. The Persians, J. M. Cook
  40. The Babylonians, H. W. F. Saggs
  41. Life, Richard Fortey
  42. The Greek Myths, Robert Graves
  43. The Nude, Kenneth Clark
  44. David Copperfield, Charles Dickens
  45. A Tale of Two Cities, Charles Dickens
  46. Metamorphosis and Other Stories, Franz Kafka
  47. The Black Tulip, Alexander Dumas
  48. A Passage to India, E. M. Forster
  49. Complete Tales of the Unexpected, Roald Dahl
  50. Introducing Quantum Theory, J. P. McEvoy & Oscar Zarateimg_20170208_201640_479.jpg
  51. A Little Book of Language, David Crystal
  52. Civilisation & Capitalism, Fernand Braudel
  53. Cycles of Time, Roger Penrose
  54. The Great Naturalists, Robert Huxley
  55. The Great Explorers, Robin Hanbury-Tenison
  56. Earth: The Power of the Planet, Iain Stewart & John Lynch
  57. Mad Science, Theodore Gray
  58. The Road to Reality, Roger Penrose
  59. Human Universe, Brian Cox
  60. Whipping Girl: A Transsexual Woman on Sexism and the Scapegoating of Femininity, Julia Serano
  61. Dubliners, James Joyce
  62. The Murders in the Rue Morgue, Edgar Allan Poe
  63. Candide, Voltaire
  64. Jane Eyre, Charlotte Brontë
  65. The Waves, Virginia Woolf
  66. Life on the Mississippi, Mark Twain
  67. The Thirty-Nine Steps, John Buchan
  68. Child 44, Tom Rob Smith
  69. The Corrections, Jonathan Franzen
  70. Fat is a Feminist Issue, Susie Orbach
  71. The Night Manager, John Le Carre
  72. All the Light we Cannot See, Anthony Doerr
  73. Wolf Hall, Hilary Mantel
  74. Stardust, Neil Gaiman
  75. Twelve Tomorrows, Bruce Sterling
  76. The Murders in the Rue Morgue, Edgar Allan Poe
  77. The Improbability of Love, Hannah Rothschild
  78. The Immortals, S. E. Lister
  79. The Sellout, Paul Beatty
  80. Savant, Nik Abnett
  81. The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, Becky Chambers
  82. The Private Memoirs of a Justified Sinner, James Hogg
  83. Dr Riemann’s Zeros, Karl Sabbach
  84. Death in the Andes, Mario Vargas Llosa
  85. The House Without Windows and Eepersip’s Life There, Barbara Newhall Follett
  86. The Physics of Finance, James Owen Weatherall
  87. The Handmaid’s Tale, Margaret Atwood
  88. A Girl is a Half-Formed Thing, Eimear McBride
  89. Liar’s Poker, Micheal Lewis
  90. Bodies are Where you Find Them, Brett Halliday
  91. The Lie Tree, Frances Hardinge
  92. Insane Clown President, Matt Taibbi
  93. Forsaken Skies, D Nolan Clark
  94. Star of the Sea, Una McCormack
  95. Defender, G X Todd
  96. The Devil Wears Prada, Lauren Weisberger
  97. Lolita, Vladimir Nabakov

Yes! Last year my list had 99 books on it, this year, even with the addition of loads of books I got for Christmas, more I got for my birthday, a bunch I won from SciFiNow, all of P’s books and every book I’ve been tempted by thanks to Amazon, I’m actually starting to win! I mean, sure, it’s slow progress, but it’s happening.

 

In the last 12-month period I’ve worked my way through 53 books, only 24 of which were on my ultimate to-read list. Those that weren’t, were either borrowed books, textbooks or books I acquired after compiling the list. If I can do similarly well this year, without acquiring too many extra texts, I’ll be pleased with my progress.

Two things I have to learn though; 1. If I insist upon counting P’s books as well as mine I need to make sure he doesn’t acquire any more books. 2. I have to find a way to stop Amazon from tempting me with Kindle deals on books that I actually want to read. They usually only offer me books I’ve no interest in but every now and then there’s something tempting for £0.99 and I don’t have any real choice in the matter.

Now, let’s see how many of these I can get through.

4 thoughts on “World Book Day and my reading list

  1. That’s a mightily impressive (and varied!) to-read list. Good luck in avoiding adding to it faster than you can deplete it :-).

    Oh, and you seem to have counted The Murders in the Rue Morgue twice (numbers 62 and 76).

    Like

Leave a Reply

