Glasgow · Theatre

Theatre: Hay Fever at the Citizen’s Theatre, Glasgow

Last week I visited the Citizen’s Theatre for the opening night of Noël Coward’s, Hay Fever. Until last year I’d never seen a Noel Coward play, but I put that right by going to see Private Lives at the Theatre Royal. Having really enjoyed it, I was quite looking forward to this show.

Hay Fever is set in the twenties and throws you in amongst a wonderfully dysfunctional family over a weekend when each member has independently invited a guest down for the weekend, without having mentioned it to anyone else. We have Judith, the retired stage actress, her novelist husband David, and their two grown-up (ish) children, Sorel and Simon. Oh, and Clara, the housekeeper, who could easily be the most brilliant character in the play.

IMG_20170405_221441_215

As I found with Private Lives, Coward’s dialogue is quick, sharp and ironic. He allows his characters to be monumentally silly with the most wonderful results, always ready to dress them down with a sharp quip from whoever they happen to be sharing the stage with.

IMG_20170405_221504_952

I loved Charlie Archer as Simon, he was exactly as infuriating as anyone’s brother ought to be when he interacted with Sorel, quickly transforming to the perfect doting son whenever his mother Judith, played delightfully by Susan Woolridge, happened to be around. However, Myra McFadyen’s Clara made the night for me. She was the only character with any sense and dripped typical Scottish sarcasm at every opportunity.

IMG_20170405_221537_365
The set…

I think perhaps there was the odd fluffed line or a brief moment of confusion, but given it was opening night and it didn’t disrupt anything, I can hardly complain. This kind of silly, fun comedy was exactly the kind of easy going thing I was hoping for, I strongly recommend a visit to The Citizen’s Theatre while it’s showing. Personally, I’ll now be looking out for more of Coward’s plays in the future. I think it’s safe to say that I’m a fan.

7 thoughts on “Theatre: Hay Fever at the Citizen’s Theatre, Glasgow

  1. I went to see this a week or so after you, and by then the production itself was perfectly smooth, without any fluffed lines or confusion. Both my companion and I enjoyed the play, but as we were discussing it heading home, I think I did more than her. I think the structure confused us both at the time, as did the melodrama of the household. I don’t think I really got the joke until it was over. I kept thinking about it later that night and I think I’d enjoy it more on a second viewing, now that I know what to expect and that the whole thing is really based around Judith’s melodrama.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I didn’t quite realise that until the breakfast scene the following morning, when the family is returning to their normal routines. All very silly, but quite fun. Good to hear they smoothed everything out 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

