Beauty

Favourite beauty finds of 2016

In 2016 I stepped up my beauty game. I still insisted on being lazy almost 100% of the time, which for me means no makeup and my hair gets washed and combed before I go out, but not usually styled. However, on the occasions when I wanted to make an effort, I made sure that that effort counted.

A lot of this came from Glossybox, but a certain amount can be blamed on my increased income now that I have a job and a salary, rather than a PhD stipend. I still wince when I spend money on cosmetics, but I also enjoy the treat. Plus, I’ve felt more confident this year, and I’m not sure what to put that down to, but it’s helped me to try things I otherwise might not have tried.

So, these are my favourite beauty finds of 2016

10. Madara Cellular repair serum

9. Not washing my hair so often

8. De Bruyere Beaute jumbo eye pencils

7. Ciate Christmas collection polishes

6. The Body Shop’s Drops of Youth Concentrate

5. Mudmasky Facial Detox Purifying Recovery mask

4. Nyx

3. The Body Shop Rainforest Balance Shampoo

2. Skin Perfect Primer by Dermalogica

1. Bright hair by Kirsty at Salon 659

Obviously, that last one is the most major change and it still makes me so, so happy. Every time I look in the mirror I have that beautiful, bright hair to cheer me up. Eventually (and possibly quite soon) I’ll have to start weaning myself off it, because it is seriously expensive and as each appointment adds up I find it harder to justify. Still, I know I’ll never let myself get bored with my hair again.

What have your major beauty finds been this year? What should I look out for in 2017?

img_20161211_084905
It started brown, then it went blue, then blue-green, now it’s blue-purple and I love it!

 

Leave a Reply

